Current
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Reviews
About
Links
Notes
Email
Guestbook
Diaryland

Scary that this was written in the 80's and now its more true than ever:

Bad Religion

Fuck Armageddon . . . This Is Hell

There's people out there that say I'm no good,
cause I don't believe the things that I should,
and when the final conflict comes, I'll be so sorry I did wrong,
and hope and pray that our lord god will think I'm good.
Countries manufacture bombs and guns
to kill your brother for something that he hasn't even done.
Smog is ruining my lungs, but they aren't sorry they've done wrong,
they hide behind their lies that they're helping everyone.
In the end the good will go to heaven up above,
the bad will perish in the depths of hell.
How can hell be any worse when life alone is such a curse?
Fuck armageddon, this is hell.
We're living in the denoument of the battle's gripping awe,
so what's the use of being good to satisfy them all?
How could hell be any worse? Life alone is such a curse!
Fuck armageddon, this is hell.


Maybe this is my poetic gift from the world. I was raised in a terrifying republican time, and I'll die there too. Neat. Complete. Those beautiful 8 years in between, which were still ripe with anger, polution, and lies were still much more beautiful because there were signs of change. Leaders who listened to the quiet whispers of *Logic* and *equality* (you know what the country was supposed to be founded on) and shied away from almighty dollar. They were still human of course, and lies fall from the mouths of *all* politicians, all across the lines.

I know it wasn't perfect, but in these fading last days I realize that those 8 years were practice. I learned about what could be done, and I saw it ripped away, much like those who lived through the revolutions in the 60's and 70's had to turn around and watch the consumerist 80's eat their dreams up.

It's all history repeating, in quicker and quicker cycles. Thats what makes me believe the end is near. It's staggering to think of where I am and how I got here. Only 1000 short years ago people were living in near-huts completely in the dark about reading/writing/or anything beyond a days walk from home. Now I can talk all day with people from all around the world. I can have live streaming news from all the world delivered to my eyes, when I want to see it, all day long. I can listen to hbo, a song I downloaded for free, and play videogames, all at the same time. And process it all. I'm seconds from overloading. The whole world is. We've all ingested too much, and still try to take too much in at once.

Anyway, that was alot of talky talk face. Mostly I'm just scared all the time. I wish desperately I could have lived back when you only had to know as far as you could walk in a day. To have life distilled down to its elements. I guess the simplest way to say it is, I know too much to be happy, and I resent the hell out of it :) But Enya has come on and despite myself I can still just tune out to that and its almost like I do live then. For a moment anyway.

previous - next

Design