Current
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Reviews
About
Links
Notes
Email
Guestbook
Diaryland

I just had a modern human experience.

As I sat here, avoiding the last hurried studying I'll have to do in my overly long college career, I heard a strange loud pop outside accompanied by the sound of 9 kitties scuttling off to various hiding spots.

My first thoughts of course in this modern terrifying era were "this is it, the end has finally begun".

I have to say, I think I took it pretty well, all things considered. I had just smoked a bowl and had a large iced coffee (home-made, extra sugar/cream/strong) so I was nicely chemically saturated. I had just spoken to my far away friend online of all the condensed wonders of the world, and of his impending holiday return. My cats were all here, my mother was arguably safe next door, and if it had to be a time, then now could be it. I could stop studying, put on something soothing like carnivale(...if we live long enough some simpsons too), keep getting high and pet my kitties till we died.

But, of course, I had to be sure, because you don't want to kiss your ass goodbye all night and get your frontal lobe in an existential uproar over nothing. SO, I did what any modern human would do and I googled "my town, fireworks, december". I did this because it did sound like fireworks, just as I always assumed the end of the world would sound, so it was either our town's excuse for a holiday celebration or the fireworks of hell erupting from the ashes of our corrupt leaders fatal mistakes.

I don't know if I particularly *like* that it's a 50/50 that it could be world war 3 or a christmas fireworks show, but I do like that I could be so at peace with it. That isn't to say that I WANT it in -any- way, but lots of awful shit I don't want to happen, does happen, every day.

Final summation: And I didn't even *mention* my other existential worry-stone - !Global Warming, and her weapons: WILD WACKY WEATHER!

previous - next

Design