Current
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Reviews
About
Links
Notes
Email
Guestbook
Diaryland

The story of the little match girl depresses me more than any other childrens fairy tale, and trust me, most of them aren't too happy if you really take a look at them.

The reason I had to share this is because its on HBO right now. I'm sure they have a much more cheerful version than the one I read, but then again, its HBO so maybe not.

Nothing shook me down to my little 6 year old roots than the story of a little girl not so much older than me out in the cold, on the street, selling matches to try and keep warm in the winter. And what does she get? She freezes to death because no one fucking loves her. NO one will buy her stupid fucking matches and she dies out there cold and alone. It breaks my heart into a million pieces and makes me want to kiss every stick of furnature in this house and every damn thing I could hawk before I'd have to do that.

That doesn't really take away the pain of knowing there are millions just *like* her out there. But thats my bleeding liberal heart again.

previous - next

Design