Current
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Reviews
About
Links
Notes
Email
Guestbook
Diaryland

I'm having another one of those "the end is near" days. It's ok though, yahoo just told me that the television revolution is coming. Not in so many words, but by 2006 (so they say anyway) we're supposed to switch to all digital TV's. Except they don't sell inexpensive ones, so the masses don't have one yet.

As far as I can see, i better buy three tommorow, whatever the cost, because once it really catches on that it's going to happen, well....I've thought about alot of scenarios, and they all end up sounding like the L.A. riots by the end.

The poor, hypnotized millions, all clamoring to get one at once, like feeding time at the trough.

Enough violence and everyone could start to fight. I always think of middle school food fights. One person may have had a reason to sling mashed potatoes at another, but 5 minutes later 300 people were W*I*L*D and the janitor has a whole days work ahead of him.

Something like that would be an excuse to go into a military state as a nation. President Shrubber becomes Dictator Assmunch. Absoulte power corrups absolutely, and suddenly it really *is* the end of times.

That thought really has been a hovering cloud. I've never been very religious, never really believed that a bearded (white) man was up in the sky telling me, and everyone else, what to do. The inherent contradictions abound, and after even the slightest interpretation you realize it all sounds a little bit *too* much like DO IT BECAUSE DADDY SAYS SO! IF YOU DON'T, YOUR ASS IS GRASS AND I'M THE KING OF ALL LAWNMOWERS (because I have dominion over all eternity, which conveniently will be spent in a wonderful fun place if you're good and a terrible burning place if you're bad).

But...I see how easy it is to be a pawn in the world of man alone...could the cosmos be the worse un-elected dictator? Maybe George W. Motherfucking Bush really is the anti-christ, and all of the religious horseshit has been at least partly true and humanity is just a wasteland? He is misleading the faithful into following his cause...isn't that something the anti-christ was going to do? In all of human history we've never had such a good chance of nuclear incineration then when his finger is on the button.

Of course, maybe I'm just worked up because some movie about revelations is being hyped on TV all the time. But I did start with TV as the topic, and there it shall end I guess, having gotten only so far as to be a little more certain that I should have my fun now, before its too late. People may revolt against tyranny, or they may revolt against a changed TV format, but I feel the revolts coming in my bones. I just don't see it turning out well :/

(as a disclaimer, people have held themselves together through much much worse all throughout history. Since ancient times empires have been built and broken, but humanity as a whole has gone on. It'll probably just do that one more time as America declines into a backwards country, laughed at by the rest of the enlightened world. I just percieve us as such a whiny ex-boyfriend of a country that we'd definantly shout "If we can't have earth, no one can" and and then push the button out of spite and arrogance most of all. I don't like it that way, but it seems like most americans these days do...and it scares the hell out of me. So from time to time I praddle on and on...feel free to ignore it any time it pops up :)

previous - next

Design