Current
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Reviews
About
Links
Notes
Email
Guestbook
Diaryland

Well, instead of just whining, yesterday I took my search to the internet and found out that Sammy has cerebellar hypoplasia, which in laymans terms means he doesn't get the cerebellum part of his brain, which controls balance mainly. While a little difficult to live with for the cat,according to all the pages I saw, it's nothing he actually understands, and it isn't fatal.

That makes me feel alot better. His inability to walk very far without falling over won't change, but most of the sites (and real people w/ cats that have CH as its noted...or handi-cats as they're called more informally)say that he'll learn to compensate as best he can, and should live a semi-normal life.

So I'm relieved. And I should have looked up his symptoms earlier. I guess they're all moderate to severe. He could have turned out alot better, but his baby seizures probably didn't help, and on the other hand he could have very well turned out worse, or dead.

So i'm trying to think of ways to handi-proof this angular potential death trap of a house. I'm lucky right now while he's so small, but they say that when they get older they try to do everything a cat does, which includes climbing and beam-walking :/ I've already seen evidence of him trying to play with one of the little fake mice, and he really does work around the limitations.

Well, its been coffee time for awhile now, so I shall go.

previous - next

Design