Current
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Reviews
About
Links
Notes
Email
Guestbook
Diaryland

So...I got another big lawyer envelope today, this time from my other, more recently deceased grandmother's lawyer. Apparently, as she always told me, she left me some of her jewelry but unfortunately my uncle can't seem to find it so he's generously decided to send me some of her other costume jewelry as a "remembrance" if I want it.

It's hard to say how that makes me feel. On one hand I suspect that he didn't even bother to try and find the stuff and is just being dicky, like he was when he waited a day and a half after her death to have my step-aunt call and tell my mother. Thanks alot buddy. Or if it's a reaction to the fact that with that stellar amount of notice we weren't able to make it to the wake/funeral 500 miles away in less than 48 hours. Or maybe it really is gone and I'm just being cunty because of said debacle over her funeral and my barely sublimated anger over it.

On that note, I was surprised by own childish reaction to the fact that if my uncle had died before her I would have still gotten the named pieces of jewelry but this completely non-related child of one of her good friends would have gotten the rest of her estate. Now, I *completely* realize that being thought of at all is the point and that since I already HAVE a fucking trust fund it's not like I technically needed anything (not that there was much left of her estate by the time she died, the poor thing lost most of it in the tech stock crash) but it just made the little kid inside get all stompy and whiny because she put some other kid ahead of me.

I'm getting over it though. It's a moot point anyway because A. my uncle outlived her so he gets "it all" and B. there wasn't much of "it" left so monetarily it's completely meaningless. Perhaps she thought my other grandmother had already taken care me in that repect so she'd spread the wealth around to someone else. That's sweet, and noble. It doesn't mean she didn't love me, or loved him more (the part my whiny child is most afraid of...I was her favorite and it's a position I coveted) and at least I'm not one of my uncles children who ALL got a big fuck you. Not just the fuck you of being left out, the fuck you of being explicitly stated by name and told that for "personal reason" they weren't getting shit i.e. because their mothers had been such cunts.

Anyway, I have to go pay money to get the paperwork that says I received it notarized, then send it back with a letter that says whatever my uncle wants to send me to remember her by is fine. And it really is, because I remember her enough without anything, so some costume jewelry, or a stuffed animal (what I intend to ask for instead if he'll so allow it) isn't necessary, just a nice bonus. For now though I'm going to go smoke my sadly dwindling pot supply and finish the last episodes of rome to try and put this out of my mind.

previous - next

Design