Current
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Reviews
About
Links
Notes
Email
Guestbook
Diaryland

Wow, I was having a great 4/20, and how easily it all got turned upside down.

As we sat down to a lavish steak dinner, the smallest of the new batch of kittens (named Sammy, after Sampson on Carnivale because he is tiny and has a strangely shaped head) began to mew plaintivly. Then he started to limp across the floor. Suddenly he was scraching his ear and convulsing. Next he stopped breathing. If it wasn't for JC giving him mouth to mouth he would have died. He still almost did, until JC thought of the great idea to use the straw out of a fast food cup to open up his airway. Once we did that he started breathing on his own and you could see him come back from the brink in his poor little eyes.

Once he was breathing through the straw device we rushed him to the vet. On the way the straw fell out, but he was still breathing on his own. We explained it all to the vet, and he said he probably was born missing parts of his brain (which accounts for the strange head shape) and he may, or may not, live through the night. In either event the vet has him. It tears me up to think of that poor little sick thing alone at the vets, but if he's going to live I guess that's his only shot.

The kicker of it all is, even though I give total credit to JC for saving his life and all, once we came home from the vet and picked through what we could stand of dinner, he stood up and announced "Well, I guess I do feel better, so I'm still going to go out". He never asked me even *once* how I was feeling. I admit that I was watching TV and that I took a couple of hits, but I wasn't feeling any better. I was holding myself together if anything.

So he bustles about getting ready and after awhile finally notices the dead quiet that has come over me. Though I thought it against my better judgement, I told him what was on my mind, and eventually he agreed that he should have asked, and then proceeded to leave anyway, trailing behind his usual promises to be early and to call. Oh and a new one that he'll pick a day and it will be "bear" day and we'll spend it together. We'll see how that works :/

previous - next

Design